For Ashley

Tonight we celebrated my friend Ashley’s 30th year in this world. Ashley is truly one of those people that everyone who knows her is better for it. I know I am. She has the most infectious laugh and her smile could light up the darkest of nights. She is God mother to my son. I can not imagine anyone else being there for him the way she is and will be. I know my son has so many people in his life who love him endlessly. We are both lucky that way. I chose Ashley because I know if anything happened to me, that she could be there not just for Eli, but for my family. I knew that her love for me and understanding of who I am was great enough that she could make sure that if I couldn’t be there for Eli, he would always know his mother. I know that my family would make sure of that too, but I knew Ashley could give him parts of my life that maybe my family couldn’t. She is an outside source who chose to love me.
I am so grateful for that love. I only hope that I can show her as much love as she has shown me.
I feel that way about all of my friends.
New and old, I feel so lucky to have people that are willing to share a part of their lives with me and are also willing to let me share with them. I heard something once that has always stuck with me. No one is truly their own person. We are all made up of the people that surround us. With that knowledge, I have always tried to surround myself with people I feel like make me the best version of myself.
One of those dear souls is Ashley. Thank you Ashley. For being a loving friend and an amazing person. Happy Birthday.

Leave a Reply

