Friends

I cannot put into words how much I value my friends. But I’m going to try.

There are days like today when life is overwhelming. We all have those days. It’s days like today when I look to my friends for support. They are there. They always are. Sometimes I don’t want to get into all the details of how I am feeling about work or other things that might be upsetting me. Sometimes I just want a hug and to spend time with people I care about. They are there. I am so lucky to have friends in so many places. Some of them I have never met face to face. They read my blog and encourage me to write more. I have friends my own age who like to go try new bars or want to go to a concert or a show with me. I have younger friends who love me for who I am, faults and all. I never try to hide them and they love me more for my honestly. I love my older friends who help guide me in my crazy mess of a life. They offer “been there, done that” stories that I treasure. I have friends who are scattered to the wind. Sometimes I get a random text or call that just says I love you and was thinking of you. There is no better compliment than to know that you are fondly on someones mind.
I find my self constantly trying to place friends in family type roles. I value family a lot. I did not grow up in a small family despite the fact that I am an only child. My cousins were always around and were great siblings that I got to send home at the end of the day. But I always wanted a large family of my own. Happy parents and lots of brothers and sisters. I always wanted to have big brothers. Sometimes I place my friends in roles because they gave a better reading than those that were originally cast. Sometimes it is because they fondly remind me of someone that I care a lot about. It’s like a “make your own family” kit. And I have.
Thank you loving and kind friends. Today I needed love and a hug and you were there. I only hope I can be as good of a friend as you are to me.

Leave a Reply

