Support

I am not talking about the kind you find in bras. Although that is extremely helpful as well.
I am talking about the support of those around you. In my mind, no job, no project, pretty much anything worth anything in life, is not worth taking on if you don’t have support. No victory is half as sweet when you have people around you to celebrate it with you. People who genuinely feel just as excited as you do about your success and your hard work. Today Noah was cast in a local production. Of course, I am proud of him. But what was even more awesome was the amazing text, Facebook post, and general excitement that surrounded him. Even my students are invested. I cannot wait to tell them tomorrow! It is support like that that lets us know that we are truly good people with good character.

This is why I know I have a problem. I feel supported in almost everything I do. I don’t need constant moral support. I don’t need someone following me around telling me “Thank you.” and “YOU’RE GREAT!” all the time. However, it is nice to hear every now and then. Especially when you feel like every time your boss wants to talk to you, you are being called into the principals office. I also feel like at any given moment I may lose my job. Here is the kicker. I have expressed this concern to a few of my co-workers. Mainly because I would like to hear “The boss likes your work, don’t worry.” or even “Don’t worry, you will get there.” Yes, I know, technically I am fishing for compliments but all I am REALLY fishing for is just a minnow of support. In stead all I get is “They won’t fire you. You are all they have.”
I’M SORRY, WHAT?!?!
HOW IN THE WORLD IS ANYONE SUPPOSE TO FEEL ANY SORT OF SUPPORT WHEN ALL YOU CAN GET IS “YOU ARE ALL THEY CAN GET.”!
I know this may seem silly, but how can be successful with anything when I don’t feel the first ounce of support.

The bottom line, support is key in both bras and success.

Leave a Reply

