Duck Feathers

I have got to start finding other times during the day to write. I like writing at night but the problem is that by the time I sit down to start writing, all I can think about is how much I want to sleep. How defeated I feel by the day. How I have to get up and do it all tomorrow. And, usually, how I have forgotten something that needs to be done and I am now feeling even more stressed and less prepared than I was when I started writing.

I hate that at the end of my day I have trouble remembering the good. I wrote about this in a previous post. I am not good about letting the good out weigh the bad. Not to say that I am a sad person, but I just tend to let the run around of my day get the best of me. I need to start letting the best get the best of me. That’s how that should work, right?

All to often I deal with children who feel defeated and let down when doing the thing they love. It’s hard to be a child and perform! Remember middle school? Now take that and add the pressure of not just trying to fit in among your peers but having the guts to put yourself out their and be selected by a group of adults. Think about how many times you have had to go in for interview after interview and been told you just were not the right person. Now imagine your 12. And I cannot lie. I do not have the heart to say that it gets better, because it doesn’t. It is never easy to be rejected. And whats even worse is when the situation is out of your control. Try explaining to an adult that they have all the right education, they have the skill set that is required, they have a great amount of experience, but they were just not what the company was looking for. You better believe that adult is going to have some questions. Well, so does a kid. And there are no answers. All I can tell them is we have to build up our duck feathers.

OK so hang in there with me. Ducks have these amazing feathers. They allow them to be in the water, go under the water, come up, and not be soaked through. HOW AWESOME IS THAT! The duck still gets wet. There is no avoiding that. You’re a duck, you live in a pond, your going to get wet. But you get this great, and sometimes beautiful, coat of feathers that help the water roll off you when you are submerged in water. That’s what we all need. Duck Feathers.

So for every 12 year old who is feeling like they are struggling to find the good in a day, to every adult that has to wake up and battle through a work day at a job that they are better than, and for every person who is having trouble seeing the good in their day, hang in there. Let the good come through, and let the bad roll off like water on duck feathers.

Leave a Reply

