The health news

I mentioned in the post before last nights that I had some news on the health front. Then I posted last night that I was getting sick. That was not the health news I was speaking of. I will try to make this story short no one really wants ALL the details no matter how good of a friend you are.

Monday as I was on my way to work I got a phone call from the Cancer Center.  The medication that I have been receiving that has been boosting my platelet count was not boosting it fast enough for my health care provider and they were going to stop covering it. I had started taking this medication for MANY reasons, but one of the main reasons was so that I could get my platelets high enough that I could have my port-a-catheter replaced.

I had it removed in November when they thought it was infected. It was not. Then they decided my platelets were too low to give it back. This made me very angry. I felt like a little kid. They took what had been mine for 8 years and I wanted it back. I have been receiving my treatments via IV ever since. No matter how good a stick the nurse is, this is still not a fun thing to go though once a week.

At first I was distraught. I wanted to know what I needed to do, who I needed to write, or, if necessary, who I needed to rough up, to get my medicine back. I could feel my little world closing around me. I was scared I was going to be spending the rest of my life with out my port. That when I went through suppresive chemo that I was going to have to do it via IV and they would have to sedate me or try to place a pic line which made it nearly impossible for me to be around Eli much less hold him. Then she told me that my doctor had decided that they would like to place the port now so that I could continue to receive the medication for at least a little while after the surgery and hopefully that would boost my platelets enough to help prevent infection.

So, Tuesday I go in for surgery. It should just be an out-patient thing. They are going to see me in the morning to give me a huge transfusion and then take me down for the procedure. I have honestly been so busy with work I have not had much time to think about it. I think that’s a good thing. Surgery for me is always high risk. But some high risk are not as high risk as other high risk. That makes since. Right? I guess what I am saying is I trust my doctors. She wouldn’t let me do this before because she didn’t think this was a good idea. I doubt she would do this now if she did not feel better about it. I did have a C-section with my platelets lower than this. Talk about a high risk high risk!

I am going away for the weekend. It is me and Noah’s first time away for Eli for longer than a night. I will miss him but I am also excited to have some time with Noah and to get away for a little while. We have not been away sense August and we have not been away from Eli ever. Sunday night and Monday I will soak up every moment I can with him. I know that even if everything goes perfect, I will be a zombie on Tuesday. And as cool as the media has made Zombies look, I do not want to expose my child to that!

Here we go! 2 big adventures in the next 5 days! Who is with me?

 

 

Leave a Reply

