Day 1 of our trip.

It started off about as rough as it could have. I was convinced that we were not meant to go and that it was not going to happen.

I went in to work, ready to face the day. Yoga pants, messy hair don’t care, boots, no make-up, ready to fight the day and get stuff done! My ever so amazing partner in crime was there and ready to fight with me. I ran down the list of things we were going to do and although both totally baffled as to why we were there we were going to make something of it! I ran out to use I went in to work, ready to face the day. Yoga pants, messy hair don’t care, boots, no make-up, ready to fight the day and get stuff done! My ever so amazing partner in crime was there and ready to fight with me. I ran down the list of things we were going to do and although both totally baffled as to why we were there we were going to make something of it! I ran out to use the restroom and as I crossed the threshold all of a sudden the room just started spinning. I hit the ground. I crawled into the bathroom before my students saw me. I pulled myself up to be sick and right before I did I dropped my phone in the toilet. The most modern day faux pas! I turned my head just in time. I managed to save my phone and I got sick the sink. I called my boss to ask her if as she was coming in if she could grab me a ginger ale at which point I think she told me to go home or at least I hope that’s what she said because to be honest with you, getting home was quite scary.
I now know what people mean when they say they are falling asleep at the wheel. I nodded off twice. I pulled over once and just rested my eyes. All I wanted was to get home. I was not even that tired but I just felt so sick. Finally I made it. Noah jumped up, frantic, thinking he had over slept. I reassured him, nope I was sick and sent home from work. He suggested sleeping for a few more hours and then lets check in again later before declaring the entire weekend a loss.
My husband is amazing. One thing he has taught me is that the day is not over til I say it is. I used to get very depressed when I would wake up and feel like I had slept the day away. After hearing me say this about a million times he asked me, how? How did I sleep the day away? The day was not over? I could still do something. Even if it’s just walking into the living room. That is still something. Between him teaching me that the day is not over, and me wanting to celebrate pretty much EVERYTHING, I am getting better about not throwing my days away.
Sure enough, a few hours later, dog in a kennel, baby with a sitter, and house locked up, we were off. First stop, chemo.
Yeah, well, some adventures are not as glamorous as others. This did give me time to create a play list. Our main goal for this day was to get there. We knew that we were going to be getting there late but we wanted to have all day Friday and Saturday to enjoy. As if I did not already have it – I think Noah gave me his heart with my amazing playlist! 240 min of AC/DC, KISS, The Temptations, Mumford and Sons, Indigo Girls, Sean Kingston, Starship, Beyonce, Journey, Van Morrison, Charlie Puth, Queen, Meghan Trainor, and so much more! You know your jealous!  If you really want the list, comment below or send me a message and I will send it to you. Noah should not be the only one. However, he is the only one who will have to listen to me sing every lyric to American Pie. I won’t put anyone else through that pain.

IMG_1325
Noah singing along to whatever amazing song I picked!

 

We have a rule on road trips. I am sure we will create more as we travel more, but we are young(ish), so the list is still developing. We are not allowed to eat at chain restaurants. For dinner we stopped at Brothers Pizza Italian Restaurant. The food was amazing! I wrote a little review on Tripadvisor (which I may start doing now, because this could be fun, right?) What it boils down to is normally I’m anti-Italian… WOW…OKAY ….LET ME FIX THAT. I mean, I feel like I can make good Italian food at home and I have so many great Italian friends who make me so many awesome Italian dishes that I am anti-Italian FOOD when we are on the road, not anti- Italian People. I love Italian people! This is where I need my friend Cole and his mom to come back me up here! I am going to get myself killed!
All jokes aside, the food was amazing! I am super picky about my pink sauce because growing up one of my good friends had the best. I had the pink sauce over Tortellini and it could rival Ms. Pat’s any day. The service was amazing. The staff was not just nice but they were genuine and fun. They asked about our trip and told us to come back by so that they could hear about it. They might not have meant a word, but for that night, we were sharing with friends and it was nice! Thank you Brother’s for a wonderful meal and friendly service.

We finally rolled into the Powhatan Resort at about 10:30. I would love to tell you that it was the greatest resort in the world, but it was fine. We checked in and they showed us where our room was. They were very nice and did the talk about how we should book a deal because if we do it now its “free”. But it was also 10:30 at night and I wanted to sleep. So we drove to our 2 bedroom condo that we would be staying in for 3 nights. All I could think is we could spend a night in each room if use the pull out one night.

But I’m to old for that mess, so Noah and I quickly unpacked and climbed into bed. Tomorrow would be a day of rest, shopping, and pretending to be Irish!

Leave a Reply

