Wburg Day 3/Trip to the ER

So this post is a 2 part post so, hang in there.

The last day of Williamsburg started out…hung over. I was fine. Noah on the other hand did not have the years of practice that I had and was not quite as ready to face the day as I was. At first he wanted to lie about until our evening plans. But around noon he managed to rally and we were off on an adventure in Historic Williamsburg. If either of us had really been history buffs, arts and craft junkies, or founding father groupies, we would have purchased tickets to all of the ins and outs of every historic building on the grounds. But we had purchased tickets to another event for that evening.
It just so happened that the historic theatre would be showing, that evening only, the National Theatre’s production of Amadeus . What are the chances? It was like a mini piece of London had followed us on our mini vacation. It was serendipitous.  It  made my heart smile. I quickly looked up the menus for restaurants in the area and found one that had the meal that was most fitting to our outing. The location, Dog Street Pub. The meal, Fish and Chips with a side of smashed peas. It was even raining. The only thing I was missing was a cup of Pimm’s. This suddenly turned our little mini-vacation along the east coast in to a vicarious trip over seas. As the lights dimmed I almost started to cry.
The production was nothing short of breath taking. It felt like a privilege getting to see such an amazing performance. When the show was over I was full of energy and hope. This overwhelming desire to go work to create art that was even half as powerful as what I had seen came rushing through me. I asked the theatre managers if I could take a look around the theatre. It was so late, but they could not have been more obliging. As they shut down for the evening they explained how the theatre had actually been designed by Rockefeller. The architecture reflected Radio City Music Hall, but on a much smaller scale. It was charming and beautiful. The lobby smelled of popcorn but also had a small scent of cigar from when that was common place in Theatre lobbies. As we were walking out the door, the house manager asked “Would you like the poster? The show was tonight only. We are just going to throw it away.” I don’t know who answered faster. It was the perfect memento from our trip to Williamsburg.
The next day we were ready to come home. We missed Eli and we missed our home. Our trip was nothing short of the adventure we needed with a little bit of excess fun sprinkled on top. I love road trips and I cannot wait for our next one!

 

Now onto the health front. Not something as pleasant but something that needs to be said. My port is not healing as fast as I was told it would. I have been feeling like a wuss for being in so much pain but last night was the breaking point. I slept maybe 2 hours total out of the 7 I tried to get. Work is also causing more and more stress. I feel like everyday I am being thrown one more hoop to jump through. It is no longer a matter of standing my ground and NOT saying “How high?” when they say “JUMP!”. I can no longer jump and they are getting more and more rude and short tempered. This is not helping any aspect of my healing.
Tonight I cracked and had to go to the ER. Basically, they cannot help me until the people who operated on me look at me first. For what ever reason, the people who operated are doing their best to make me feel like I am the one in the wrong for being in pain. So now, I have my two best people on it. Tomorrow, Noah and Mom are going to fight to make them give me answers and help me with the pain until I am healed. I cannot sit out on bed rest for a week while I get better. But the baseball sized bruise on my chest suggests otherwise. Something has got to give. And it is not going to be me. Not any more.
I am so lucky that I have people who love me and who are willing to fight for me. I have people who are willing to pray for me. People who are texting me words of encouragement. Even just my students who smile at me and tell me “Thank you” for class. I am lucky. I will not let this dark over shadow the amazing light I have in my life. This light will defeat this darkness. I know it will.

Leave a Reply

