I Hate Politics

Sometimes I have to hold things upside down to see the answers.

It’s hard to do, but I know the answer is always there. Right now, I am working on a project and the things I thought would be simple are proving to be more difficult and the things that I thought I would be struggling through, I am sailing through.
I have this idea, and I feel like it is only half baked but it’s dinner time. Tell me what you think.

The division between our country feels like it is something we have never experienced. We feel as though there is one side and then there is another and there is no such thing as a middle ground. Everyone’s political representative is obnoxious so no one is listening to the heart of the matter. Which, in my mind, is that a wealthy, tyrannical,  mad man is trying to run our county into the ground. Now, anyone who speaks against him is considered  “Not Nice” or a “Liar”. Sadly, the other party cannot get their shit together and find someone who is liked by enough of them to push the tyrant out of office.
So hear we sit, under Fat George once again, divided, much like we were back in 1776.
Which happens to be the play I am directing. So I am setting it in the now. Everything is still the same. We still have John Adams, and Ben Franklin, and the rest of the male congress men. But a lot of them are being played by women, as women, to represent our modern congress. Showing that our modern political atmosphere is just as divided even though we feel as though we exist in an anomaly. We don’t. History repeats itself. And all I can hope is that it will not take a war to end the rein of this dictator.

Does that make any sense? I have had this idea for a while thinking only in the hypothetical. Like a “what if America were to be under a dictator again”. I never in a million years thought it would actually happen.

So like I said, here we sit. Things have truly turned up side down.

Leave a Reply

