Shit feathers

So here is the long and short of it. I will try to lean towards the short.

A child walked in on an adult conversation. The adult conversation was about her. Because we did not know she was there we were not saying things with any tact what so ever! Now said child is hurt. As I would be too if I was a child who heard adults saying that basically I was a spoiled brat. Granted, by child I mean 16 year old.
However, there is a time and a place for everything. It was a conversation that she should not have heard. That does not mean she does not need to hear the things that are being said. She just should have heard them with a better choice of words.
Also, because said child is acting the way she is, I do not know WHAT she heard! We adults were talking all kinds of shit. BECAUSE IT WAS AN ADULT CONVERSATION!
I think my biggest issue with it all is that I have to face her tomorrow and see how she is going to act. I am just preparing myself for her attitude and I am trying to remember that I am the adult and that she is the child. If she would like to talk to me about what she heard, I am game. But I am not down to play her games.
I am just shaken. And I don’t know why. I guess it’s guilt. But over what? I sat there. I said things. I talked. I can’t change it. I cannot fix it. I cannot make it better. It’s in the air now.

This is that thing they teach you in bible camp about not tearing open a pillow. Because then all the feathers fly everywhere and you cannot get them back in.

But that can’t be right. Because this was not me opening a bag of feathers. This was not me spreading gossip. This was not me saying something I had heard and spreading it around. This was me, venting to my adult friends that a child was driving me crazy. I just cannot get her to see it that way.

It hurts me to know that I hurt somebody.

Leave a Reply

