Who am I?

One day I will be able to tell the story I know, but right now I keep it close. Those who I feel the need to know, know it. The rest of the world can bugger off. As Mark Twain said “Never tell the truth to people who are not worthy of it.” I don’t think he meant the truth in the sense of truth or lie but more so of who is worthy of hearing YOUR truth. It is not worth telling it to people who may find you false. It will only end in pain. Pain I thought would never end. But out of the ashes rises the phoenix.

Or at least a slightly awkward duck.

So here I am. A slightly awkward duck slowly but surely becoming less and less awkward by the day. I have been given a slightly different path and I am like a little kid again. I am back with the school I worked with last year. However, I am backed with TWICE as many kids and parents fighting for a drama program. I find myself getting more excited about projects than I have been in such a long time. Beyond that, there is such a level of support that comes not just from the higher-ups, but from my coworkers, the students I work with and their parents! This is not to say I do not mess up. I do! And with gusto! But there is my amazing support system telling me that it’s okay. They have my back. This is still something new and they want to see me succeed because when I do, so do their children.
I have also taken on a new hobby-tunity. It’s like a hobby and an opportunity combined. Long story SUPER short, I have started working a Craft, Antique, and Flee Market once a month to bring in a little extra cash. This allows me to go on more trips like the one I took to Baltimore.  With November being a scratch for a trip, December looking the same, January does not look promising because of school, I am hoping for a big trip in February. The Flees are fun. They are a chance to meet great new people be it other vendors or possible customers. I try to have a mix of stuff from my Grandmothers, so antique stuff, my own art, and then an artist I have commissioned. Last time it was my mother in law’s work. I think next time I am going to ask my right hand at the school who does ALL of my costumes for me (she is my Wonder Woman) if she would make a few cool things for me to sell. I call my self the Picky Picker. It came to me in one of my morphine moments when I was at the ER for PNH pain. It had to do with me picking people, places, and things to be around, visit, and to trade or refurbish for little to no money. It was like a challenge. I still love the concept, but I am not going to be able to keep up 2 blogs at once so now all of my Picky Picker action will be here as well.
All around, I can’t complain. I still hurt every now and again. For those of you who follow my blog, you know that I wrote one on duck feathers. Ducks have feathers that allow water to just roll right off their backs. I used to be so proud of my duck feathers. Sadly, I molted. But I am working hard to get them back. One at a time.

Leave a comment